In light of the recent blizzard, we thought it would be appropriate to remind everyone that New Jersey law requires that a driver must clear their car of snow and ice before driving. This law applies to both commercial and non-commercial drivers. Under the law, a police officer may pull over a vehicle which has snow and/or ice on any exposed surface (it does not matter if the snow and/or ice has fallen off the car while driving). If a driver is found guilty of driving with snow and/or ice their vehicle, they are subject to a fine of not less than $25 and not more than $75. If snow and/or ice falls of a vehicle and causes an injury or property damage, the driver is subject to a fine of not less than $200 and nor more than $1,000.
Make sure to clean off your car before driving.
— Erik Anderson, Esq.
Reardon Anderson represents the interests of businesses, insurance companies and individuals throughout New Jersey and the metropolitan New York City area. Please visit our website at http://reardonanderson.com to learn more about our firm.